New season starts with victories for Dietzel and Rockenfeller

“Networking at Highspeed” is the motto of the RCCO E-Sport Series, in which exciting people meet once a month for virtual races with the 1,000 hp eX ZERO and at the same time exchange ideas about motorsport and mobility topics – from now on also with the support of the Scherer Group.

The season 3 opener in Imola was dominated by Andre Dietzel (tv racing), Mike Rockenfeller (AvD) and Julius Martin (Martin Racing Team), who claimed the podium in both races. Starting from pole position, Andre Dietzel successfully fended off all attacks from guest driver Mike Rockenfeller in the red AvD car in Race 1. After a failed attack on the last lap, “Rocky” even dropped back to third place behind Julius Martin.

Dietzel was responsible for motorsport communications at Volkswagen for many years and now works in product communications for the company. Martin is new to the RCCO family: the development engineer from Dresden can combine his passion for motorsport with the topic of sustainability, which also occupies him professionally, in the RCCO E-Sport Series.

As usual, the second race was turbulent, with the top ten starting in reverse order. On their way to the front, Rockenfeller, Dietzel and Martin had their hands full and had to survive some hair-raising situations. This time, the pro racing driver played his class to the full and took the win ahead of Dietzel and Martin, who battled for second place until the very end.

“It was mega fun to be part of the E-Sport Series season opener,” said DTM driver Mike Rockenfeller. “The level was great and the car was cool to drive on this track.”

As Rockenfeller is competing as a guest driver out of competition, Bodo Kräling (bspowersports) and Steffen Walter (tv racing) also managed to qualify for the Super Final on December 20 in addition to Dietzel and Martin. This will be contested by all drivers who achieved at least one podium result in season 3.

The race continues on October 4 at Portimao (Portugal).  

Race 1

1st Andre Dietzel (tv racing) 9 laps in 12m 54.953s

2nd Julius Martin (Martin Racing Team) + 1.211s

3rd Mike Rockenfeller (AvD) + 2.227s

4th Bodo Kräling (bspowersports) + 4.407s

5th Steffen Walter (tv racing) + 7.034s

6th Stefan Waschow (NReSports) + 9.849s

Pole position: Andre Dietzel (tv racing) 1m 23.845s

Fastest lap: Mike Rockenfeller (AvD) 1m 24.195s

Race 2

1st Mike Rockenfeller (AvD) 9 laps in 13m 01.040s

2nd Andre Dietzel (tv racing) + 2.830s

3rd Julius Martin (Martin Racing Team) + 3.462s

4th Steffen Walter (tv racing) + 7.322s

5th Thomas Voigt (tv racing) + 15.038s

6th Bodo Kräling (bspowersports) + 15.356s

Fastest lap: Mike Rockenfeller (AvD) 1m 24.698s

Standings after 2 of 10 races and qualified for the Super Final:

1st Andre Dietzel (tv racing)

2nd Julius Martin (Martin Racing Team)

3rd Steffen Walter (tv racing)

4th Bodo Kräling (bspowersports)