Double victory for guest driver Nico Müller

Guest driver Nico Müller was the outstanding driver at the fourth event of the new RCCO E-Sport Series. With an Audi e-tron Vision Gran Turismo in the colours of his personal sponsors, the DTM and Formula E driver from Switzerland crossed the finish line as the clear winner in all three races. “It was a lot of fun,” said Müller after his debut in the RCCO E-Sport Series.

Only his DTM colleague Mike Rockenfeller, who was narrowly beaten in the qualifying race, was able to keep up with the Audi factory driver. In the first of the two races, “Rocky” fought a spectacular duel with Müller before he lost touch and dropped back to fourth place due to a technical problem at his steering wheel. In the second race Rockenfeller, finished second behind Müller.

With his double victory at the virtual Fuji International Speedway, Müller ended the winning streak of Michael Niemas, who had won the first six races of the RCCO E-Sport Series. In Fuji, the modelling artist struggled with technical problems at his steering wheel. “I even considered switching to a controller,” said the leader of the standings, who was still the best permanent RCCO participant in both races as second and third.

Björn Skottke, who crossed the finish line just behind Niemas in third place in the first race, was also happy about a podium in Fuji. In the second race, Skottke was involved in several incidents. He finished the race in fifth place behind Stefan Waschow.

In Fuji the new race format of the RCCO E-Sport Series took effect for the first time: The starting positions for the first of the two races are decided by a short qualifying sprint race. Race one is held without tyre degradation, race two with tyre wear and reversed starting grid.

“From my point of view, the format has proven itself,” says Mike Rockenfeller. “All I’d like to do in the next race is increase the tyre wear very slightly.”

After the two races in Fuji it is also clear who will represent the RCCO at the next events of the #RaceHome Charity Racing Series: Michael Niemas, Stefan Waschow, Björn Skottke, Bettina Schuller, Thomas Voigt and Roland Zumsande.